The neighborhoods of Rome are the newly urbanized areas born only after the establishment of the last neighborhoods, Prati.

They constitute the second level of toponymy subdivision of Roma Capitale and cover an area of ​​171.38 km². The total resident population is 1 483 913 inhabitants.

Following the remarkable expansion of the city in the thirty years from 1890 to 1920, the Association of the Romans signaled to the Administration the opportunity to establish new Districts and Neighborhoods, in addition to the fifteen existing neighborhoods.

Thus, in 1921, the Municipal Council ordered the establishment of the following fifteen neighborhoods, after an initial tracing carried out in 1911 for statistical and personal effects only.

The urbanized area north of the Aniene river was temporarily called Città Giardino – Aniene until 1924, when it was established as the 16th Monte Sacro neighborhood, while “the neighborhood to the left of Via Nomentana” was established as the seventeenth Savoia quarter  in 1926. In 1935 the 15th neighborhoods, Milvio, became Della Vittoria  in 1938 it became Delle Vittorie and in 1945 it resumed the name Della Vittoria.

In 1946, after the end of the reign, the 3rd neighborhood, Vittorio Emanuele III, resumed the original name Pinciano and on the 17th, Savoy, became Trieste .

On 1 March 1954 the suburb of S. I Parioli was divided into two neighborhoods: Q. XVIII neighborhood Tor di Quinto and S. I Tor di Quinto suburb.

By resolution of the Extraordinary Commissioner No. 2453 of September 13, 1961, another 17 neighborhood were established, some transforming five suburbs of the eastern area, others from territories of the Roman countryside which, in turn, was divided into zones. The “new” neighborhood were assigned numbers from 19 to 35.

The municipality of Roma Capitale therefore currently has 35 neighborhoods: